Masatosi Kosiba

Picture of Masatosi Kosiba

Date of Birth: 09/19/1926

Age: 90

Place of birth: Toyogasi

Citizenship: Japan


Kosiba studied at the University of Tokyo. After graduation in 1951, he enrolled in graduate school and moved in 1953 to the University of Rochester in the US. In 1955 Kosiba receiving a doctorate for work on superhigh phenomena in cosmic rays.

In March 1970, Kosiba became a professor at Tokyo University.

In the 1950s and 1960s Kosiba involved high-energy cosmic radiation and related phenomena in the upper atmosphere. These studies led him in 1970 to the physics of muons and neutrinos, as well as the physics of elementary particles. After participating in the JADE - a joint German-Japanese project in the DESY accelerator in Hamburg, he constructed Kamiokande detector for registration predicted by the theory of proton decay. Since proton decay registration failed, he rebuilt a neutrino detector in the detector and was able to register a cosmic neutrino in the process of the explosion of the supernova 1987A failed to register 12 neutrinos, 9 of which are in the first 2 seconds. This was the first direct experimental proof of theories about the processes occurring during the collapse of stars, in particular the theory of neutrino cooling.

In 2002, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics. Together with Raymond Davis, he received half of the prize, the second half was Riccardo Giacconi.


Federal Cross of Merit, Germany 1985

Award Nishino, Nishino Fund 1987

ASAHI Prize from the ASAHI publishing 1988

Order of Culture from the Japanese government, in 1988

Academic Award from the Japan Academy of Sciences, 1989

Bruno Rossi Award, from the American Physical Society, 1989

Special Prize of the European Physical Society, 1996

Humboldt Research Award from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, 1997

Fujiwara Prize from the Fujiwara Science Foundation, 1997

Order of Cultural Merit from the Emperor of Japan 1997

ASAHI Prize from the ASAHI publishing house, 1999

Diploma di Perfezionamento honoris causa in Fisica of the Scuola Normale Superiole in Pisa 1999

Honorary Doctor of Natural Sciences of the University of Hamburg 1999

Reward outstanding scientist from the University of Rochester, 2000

Wolf Prize from the Wolf Foundation, 2000

Panofsky Prize from the American Physical Society, 2002

Nobel Prize in Physics 2002

Member of the Japanese Academy of Sciences, 2002